When running python, screen only visible for a split second?

A forum for general discussion of the Python programming language.

When running python, screen only visible for a split second?

Postby ngj35uk » Tue Apr 08, 2014 2:57 pm

hi when i go to run anything i can see it on screen for a split second could someone help how to keep it on thank you also running windows 8
Last edited by Yoriz on Wed Apr 09, 2014 12:05 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Changed title.
ngj35uk
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue May 21, 2013 7:35 pm

Re: flash

Postby Mekire » Tue Apr 08, 2014 3:13 pm

You can:
  • Run it from within an IDE (like IDLE for instance)
  • Run it from a terminal window (command prompt)
  • Put an input/raw_input call on the last line so the window stays open (not professional).
-Mek
New Users, Read This
  • Use code tags when posting code.
  • Include any errors with your post (in code tags).
  • Describe your problem; not your chosen solution.
  • Make examples the minimum length to demonstrate your issue.
User avatar
Mekire
 
Posts: 1711
Joined: Thu Feb 07, 2013 11:33 pm
Location: Tucson, Arizona

Re: flash

Postby micseydel » Tue Apr 08, 2014 6:28 pm

How have you learned Python? It sounds like your book/tutorial isn't properly covering how to use Python on Windows.
Due to the reasons discussed here we will be moving to python-forum.io on October 1, 2016.

This forum will be locked down and no one will be able to post/edit/create threads, etc. here from thereafter. Please create an account at the new site to continue discussion.
User avatar
micseydel
 
Posts: 2997
Joined: Tue Feb 12, 2013 2:18 am
Location: Mountain View, CA

Re: flash

Postby lorddarthvader » Wed Apr 09, 2014 4:19 am

Or you could use the time module to pause the program :roll: (highly not recommended).
--If at first you don't succeed, destroy all evidence that you tried.
My github
fite me
User avatar
lorddarthvader
 
Posts: 32
Joined: Mon Apr 07, 2014 11:38 am

Re: flash

Postby micseydel » Wed Apr 09, 2014 6:22 am

lorddarthvader wrote:Or you could use the time module to pause the program :roll: (highly not recommended).

That doesn't help if there's an exception, and raw_input() is usually what people recommend for something like that (which against, still isn't robust against exceptions).
Due to the reasons discussed here we will be moving to python-forum.io on October 1, 2016.

This forum will be locked down and no one will be able to post/edit/create threads, etc. here from thereafter. Please create an account at the new site to continue discussion.
User avatar
micseydel
 
Posts: 2997
Joined: Tue Feb 12, 2013 2:18 am
Location: Mountain View, CA


Return to General Discussions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests