Python Alternatives

Python Alternatives

Postby JValadez » Tue Jan 12, 2016 10:32 pm

Please promise not to destroy me on this post because of the subject. I am still learning Python and have fallen in love with using this language. I use it for data analysis mainly and work with fairly large data sets that have become too much for analysis in Excel. My company does not want me to have Python anymore because they feel it creates too much of a security risk. I do not know that much about network security, so I am not well equipped to fight them on this. They claim that Python opens certain ports that will leave us vulnerable to attacks. Is this true? They also do not want any open-source software installed simply because there will be no accountability for blame, besides internally, if there is a security breach. I have tried doing research, but cant find any issues with Python and security issues except for with ArcGis(which is software that I just learned about through Google). I am sure that I could create security risks by developing code that at this point is way beyond my current knowledge of the language. All I do is pull data from a local server and use various packages to analyze, transform, export, etc the data. I do not perform any type of web scraping at work, so everything is local. Just by doing this, am I really causing a security risk? I would rather be equipped to have an informed discussion with them to explain that these risks do not exist (if that is the case), while having them provide me with their proof. If anyone has any resources that I can show them explaining that their is no risk or no additional risk vs other programs, it would be a great help. Feedback besides links, resources, or documentation is also welcome. In addition to help saving my Python installation, could you please recommend any non-open source (paid) software that is comparable? Remember, you promised at the beginning to not destroy me on this. They would rather pay $50k f