Salt Stack with Django

Salt Stack with Django

Postby Jenny_V » Wed Aug 31, 2016 12:32 pm

Hi everyone!

I am having a bit of trouble setting up my salt api to be used in my django Rest framework application.
So what I have is a working django application, and I have a master and a lot of minions.
I have installed salt and salt api on the master and then did the following:

(1.) cloned django-saltapi from git hub and added django salt api to my installed_apps:
INSTALLED_APPS = (
[...]
'django_saltapi',
)
(2.) Added salt path in the config for the master :
SALT_CONFIG = {
'master_config': '/etc/salt/master',
}

(3.) included the url to be used :
url(r'^api/salt/', include('django_saltapi.urls')),

Step number 3 is strange for me because I do not use that syntax in my urls.py, My urls are without the urls() just r^ etc...
Still It doesn't show the page when I try to access it from localhost no matter what path I try.
The file is in my root where I have all other working stuff including another api(not salt)
Any thoughts?

Thanks,

Jenny
Jenny_V

Re: Salt Stack with Django

Postby nilamo » Wed Aug 31, 2016 4:49 pm

include(), used like this, takes a completely different urls.py, and attaches it to the end of whatever url fragment you have. So /salt/api/banana would check the included urls.py for a "banana" entry. That way, you can have modules included, base them on a url the rest of your site doesn't use, so it doesn't conflict with anything. Here's the doc: https://docs.djangoproject.com/en/1.10/ref/urls/#django.conf.urls.url.

As to your actual issue, I don't know. Could you share the entire urls.py you're using? And please, put it in [code] tags :)
This forum is shutting down. Future discussion should take place at http://python-forum.io
nilamo

Postby Jenny_V » Thu Sep 01, 2016 11:51 am

Thanks nilamo for the brief!

as for my issue:

This is what I've got in urls.py
Code: Select all

from django.conf.urls import patterns, url