Help with calculating the average of variables

For students who are taking a programming course, may be restricted in what they can use, or have other unusual limitations on solving their task.

Help with calculating the average of variables

Postby NotASeagull » Wed Sep 28, 2016 3:21 pm

So, I'm pretty new to python, but I've got an assignment in which I must calculate the average of a range of variables given by the user. Variables are supposed to be grades.
I've got:

for c in range (0,50)
Grade = input ("What is the student's grade?')

How do I get the average of all the user''s inputs?
Should I use import statistic mean?

Also, how could I get how many graded are below 50 and above or equal to 50

Thanks!
Last edited by micseydel on Wed Sep 28, 2016 3:57 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Initial post lock.
NotASeagull

Re: Help with calculating the average of variables

Postby Kebap » Wed Sep 28, 2016 4:37 pm

How would you do it without a computer? Try to split the problem into many simple steps. Then solve these steps one by one.

No, you do not need that import. Your current solution will forget all inputs, whenever it gets the next one. Do you already know about lists in python?
Due to the reasons discussed here we are moving to python-forum.net on October 1, 2016.

This forum will be closed. Please create an account at the new site to continue discussion.

IRC://irc.freenode.net/python-forum
Kebap

Postby Ofnuts » Wed Sep 28, 2016 7:20 pm

Kebap wrote:How would you do it without a computer? Try to split the problem into many simple steps. Then solve these steps one by one.

No, you do not need that import. Your current solution will forget all inputs, whenever it gets the next one. Do you already know about lists in python?

You don't need lists here. You need to know the current total and how many grades you have included in it.
This forum has been moved to http://python-forum.io/. See you there.
Ofnuts