get a series of random numbers from a big list

This is the place for queries that don't fit in any of the other categories.

get a series of random numbers from a big list

Postby pygene » Thu Mar 21, 2013 8:35 pm

Guys,
I want to generate a series of random numbers WITHOUT REPLACEMENT at an ascending order. Basically I have a list of strings (many million lines) and some of them (small percentage) are repetitive. What I want to do is
1. take 10,000 random strings from this list, store them into file 1, remove these 10,000 picks for the rest of sampling
2. then take another 10,000 random strings from the reminder of the list, store them along with file 1 into file 2, remove these 10,000 picks
3. another 10,000 random strings from the reminder of the list, store them along with file 2 into file 3, remove these new 10,000 picks
until I have sampled all of the available strings.

I kinda of have a rough idea of how to implement it. Since I'm fairly new to python, I would like to know if there are efficient way to do this. So I'd love to hear what your thoughts on this!

Thanks!
pygene

Re: get a series of random numbers from a big list

Postby KevinD » Fri Mar 22, 2013 1:29 am

You might want to look at the "random" module, specifically the "shuffle", "choice" and "sample" methods.

You could use the "sample" method to select a specific number of random integers, then take the lines corresponding to those positions.
Quanto lignum posset materiae materietur marmota Chuck si materiam possit materiari foedans, penitus lignum?
KevinD

Postby pygene » Fri Mar 22, 2013 3:39 pm

Yeah, I'm reading that module. Thanks for the hints on those methods.
pygene

Postby tnknepp » Fri Mar 22, 2013 4:04 pm

Some things to consider:
1. Do you want only unique strings? Making your list unique may reduce your process speed substantially. Even if it only changes by 10%, if the total process time is hours this can be advantageous.