IDLE stopped working...

This is the place for queries that don't fit in any of the other categories.

IDLE stopped working...

Postby snakeinmyboot » Sun Jun 23, 2013 6:02 am

Ok, so I have been using IDLE for python scripting for about 2 months now on a 13" macbook pro with the latest version of OSX. Everything worked fine....until today. For some reason now whenever I open Idle....it automatically closes. Im talking seriously auotomatic....like it doesnt even open for a split second.....tried restarting computer, and re installing python....but it still does this...this is the weirdest and most annoying thing to ever happen on my mac....can someone please help me? Im kind of seriously freaking out right now...Im not sure if this has anything to do with it, but this started happening right after I changed a preference in IDLE for the first time. nothing major, just told it not to prompt me to save before I run the script, and thats it. HELP!!!!
snakeinmyboot

Re: IDLE stopped working...

Postby micseydel » Sun Jun 23, 2013 9:35 am

Try running the IDLE executable, located at something like
/Applications/Python 2.7/IDLE.app/Contents/MacOS/IDLE

in a Terminal window. Post your output here.

I used OS X for about 9 months until I found many Python-related things with it are extremely agitating, and I switched to Linux.
Join the #python-forum IRC channel on irc.freenode.net!

Please do not PM members regarding questions which are meant to be discussed publicly. The point of the forum is so that others can benefit from it. We don't want to help you over PMs or emails.
micseydel

Postby hrs » Sun Jun 23, 2013 1:55 pm

Does OSX like linux have "hidden" configuration files in user home? For example in ~/.idle/bla.
If there's something wrong there reinstalling wont help.
hrs

Postby snakeinmyboot » Sun Jun 23, 2013 7:15 pm

I will try
micseydel wrote:Try running the IDLE executable, located at something like