getting motivation

getting motivation

Postby metulburr » Thu May 08, 2014 9:13 pm

When I first started programming, i had a ton of motivation to program. Now it seems I hit the first snag, and give up. Im just like "ug" i dont want to do this now. I literally do not want to research how to do it, etc. The problem is the "i dont want to do this now" goes on and on for days and day, weeks, even months. This has slowly come over me the past half year to year or so. At that rate, how am i suppose to get my program completed? Im just a hobby progammer currently and a stay at home dad with a lot of free time on my hands. If i get burnt out on it as a hobby i couldnt image if i worked in the field. There are times when i cannot hear myself think, let alone program something i am having trouble with. Then other times i just have little to no interest.

I read somewhere that one of you guys stopped programming for like a year or two?
Have you guys felt like this at times?
What did you do to overcome it?
How do you maintain your motivation?
New Users, Read This
OS Ubuntu 14.04, Arch Linux, Gentoo, Windows 7/8
https://github.com/metulburr
steam
metulburr

Re: getting motivation

Postby Mekire » Fri May 09, 2014 7:54 am

I have the same issue. I'll have a problem in front of me; have a really good idea how to approach it; fully know that once I just start it eventually I will make it work the way I need; and then just really not want to. Definitely hard to get past.

I recommend stepping away from your current project(s) and doing something really really small.
I made that console 2048 for example. It wasn't a challenge; just a distraction from what I had been doing, and something I knew I could do really quickly. Nonetheless, I found the result satisfying and it helped me get back in the mood.